White House

White House

I celebrated two birthday parties this year. In addition to my May 12th birthday, August 5th was selected for my 70th birthday party and family reunion. My wife’s family has a tradition of family reunions, and my wife has experience in planning them. She did a marvelous job of planning a first family reunion for the Green clan. With input from Oregon family members, she settled on the White House B&B. This venue could handle individual rooms for participants, common areas, and outstanding food. Both of my brothers attended along with five of my six nephews. The only nephew not to attend had a last-minute emergency in his partner’s family that kept him from participating. Two nephews brought their three-year-old children who got along famously. We even played some chess. The B&B had an excellent wooden set and I brought two plastic sets and two clocks that allowed me to introduce bughouse to some family members. Our dinner featured a Mediterranean menu with multiple dishes. Two breakfasts were amazing. We learned that the current owner, who has operated it for some twenty years, is looking to sale the property. Parking here, like most of Portland, is a challenge and involves only using the space immediately in front of the property. When will we get together again?

