Rainbow Basin

Rainbow Basin

During our stay at the Barstow/Calico KOA, we made a trek to the Rainbow Basin Natural Area. This area, maintained by the Bureau of Land Management, is known for its fossils. The one way dirt road in the Basin features hair pin turns and dramatic, colorful rock formations. We stopped at a parking spot about half-way around the loop drive for a hike in a wash. Also, movies picturing Martian landscapes have been filmed here. So, an out-of-this-world experience!

Sometime after our return I lost my key to the smart for two. I usually keep it in my pocket or have a specific place within the RV where I keep my keys. It is a mystery to me where the key is. Fortunately, we have a second key. After three days the key resurrected from being entombed between my mattress and where I normally keep it inside the Via. What did I learn? My memory can fail and I need humility in my humanity. I’m glad we again have two keys!

