Horse Camp Trail View

Horse Camp Trail View

Although we have previously hiked the 2.2 mile Horse Camp Loop Trail #383 going in both directions, today I accidentally abandoned the trail at about the halfway point. The trail crosses two dirt forest service roads. When we arrived at the second road, I didn’t see a trail marker and so we followed the road. Then, when we found where it reconnected with the trail, I chose to return via a different forest service road. This road was the first that we had crossed. Once we returned to the junction with the trail, we hiked back to our starting point. We usually bring a map, but not today. Please remind me that we should never hike without a map. We saw several wildflowers. I especially liked a clump of sacred thorn-apple. My wife spotted two deer. Two individuals on motor bikes passed us while we were returning on a forest road. Two talkative hikers were just starting out as we completed our walk. We did take a quick look at the Groom Creek Horse Camp where the camp host intercepted us. Campers must have at least one horse to camp in this campground. A half dozen horses and their riders returned from a ride as we departed.

