Dole Plantation

Dole Plantation

My wife’s family selected a Hawaii Beach Home near Waialua on O’ahu’s north shore for their family reunion. We had a beautiful room with a view of the ocean. On my previous two stays on O’ahu, I stayed in Waikiki. In previous posts you can read about our stroll to Waimea Falls and our cultural learning at the Polynesian Cultural Center near Lā’ie. On my first trip to O’ahu our tour bus made a stop at the Dole Plantation. This time we took the Plantation Garden self-guided audio tour. Make sure you ask for the audio device as all the other guests that we encountered simply walk around and look at the informational signs. We also went snorkeling at the Turtle Bay public beach. The water was warm and I saw a few colorful fish as I swam near the coral. We hiked toward Kahuku Point. We observed an Hawaiian altar. We also viewed a Hawaiian monk seal pup resting on the beach. Our farewell dinner was at Hale’iwa Joe’s Seafood Grill. The food was great. One brother-in-law was served the biggest prime rib I’ve ever seen. Many of us took advantage of the seafood. I enjoyed a tender ahi steak. We were then treated to several fire dance performers. The Griffis family knows how to party!

