Willow Creek

Willow Creek

The Willow Lake Trail traverses slickrock through the scenic Granite Dells adjacent to Willow Lake with views of Granite Mountain. Previously I have hiked the Red Bridge Trail loop. On this hike I walked along Willow Creek, up steep stairs, and then explored the East Bay Loops. I was surprised to find an artist painting near the East Bay Trail. A snake had stopped on the Low Water Trail.  I tapped my walking stick on the ground a few times and it quickly slithered stage right. My return near dusk also brought out hordes of tiny lime green colored insects congregated in balloon shaped clusters about head high. Breath in through the nose and exhale through the mouth. The trailhead starts at 5,160 feet and climbs to 5,210 feet. It is important to follow the white dots when the trail goes over bare rock. Prescott has great trails!

