Mt. Hood

Mt. Hood

A quick trip to Oregon to attend the memorial service of Sharon Regina McManus Green allowed me to be with my brother and his family.  Almost 100 people gathered this past Saturday and shared memories of her life which touched fellow teachers, parents of special needs children, foster children, international students, and members of the family.  The service was a meaningful tribute to the remarkable contributions of this woman who died altogether too young from cancer.  It was fitting that gourmet food and drink back at the family home nourished those who continued to celebrate her life amidst grieving the loss.  My visit was an opportunity to gain some perspective on my nephews and how their lives are developing, including introductions to significant others in their lives.  It also afforded an opportunity for me to share a meal with my mentor of 50 years and his spouse.  My plane trip from Phoenix featured a view of the Grand Canyon and then as we approached Portland at sunset views of snow capped Mt. Adams, St. Helens, and Mount Rainier.  On leaving Oregon not only did my window seat allow views once again of the prominent Cascade mountains of Washington but also a closeup view of Oregon’s iconic Mt. Hood.

