General Crook Trailhead

General Crook Trailhead

What is now called General Crook Trail (#64) originally connected Fort Whipple and Fort Apache and covered approximately 200 miles.  This is one of twelve trails selected for this year’s “Take a Hike” program and one of four chosen because of its historic interest during the Arizona Centennial.  General George Crook was assigned to Fort Whipple, Prescott in the 1870s.  I admit to getting confused in trying to follow the map for this 2.8 mile out-and-back hike.  The initial portion of the trail has clear signage but gets confusing when it intersects with old roads.  Cairns help to define the trail but after arriving in the cottonwoods at Ash Creek I missed the trail and followed the creek for some distance.  I the pondered whether to bushwhack to highway 169 which was visible or circle back to find a road or the trail.  I decided on the latter course and gained an appreciation for hiking on a trail after encountering numerous bushes with thorns.   Eventually I connected with the trail and made my way safely back to my car.  However, I missed seeing the historic stone corral and the antiquities sign that marked the end of the designated hike.  I did spot the skeleton and hide of a cow on this outing, and I gained an appreciation for those early pioneers who settled this rugged region.

