Ten area chess players decided to test their brains against one another in the North Market rather than spending time outside enjoying the sunny fall day. John Stopa, the highest rated player, won the four round swiss without getting nicked and took home $80. My game against the Master made him think. Two back-to-back mistakes, however, led to his third round win. I positioned my knight for a combination instead of first castling. Then, I proceeded to move my King away from an attacked piece instead of holding on to it as long as possible. My three other wins gave me clear second place, although the prize money was based on class. Jim Dohnal, Brennan Blackburn, and Murray Weber split the $40 prize money for those Under 1600. Dan Benway and Tim Jenks shared the $40 for top Under 1200. Playing rated games is an important way to improve one’s chess.

