Waller Hall & Oregon capitol building

Waller Hall & Capitol

Salem is the state capitol of Oregon. The sculpted marble on both sides of the entrance symbolize important elements in the discovery and settling of the state. The golden pioneer that sits atop the capitol building points to a better future. Directly across the street from the capitol is Willamette University, my alma mater. Historic Waller Hall looks to be refurbished and ready to serve another 150 years. The Mark O. Hatfield Library is one of several new buildings that have been added since I attended. The Mill Stream flowing through the campus is now a much more prominent presence than I remember it. The nearby Oregon State School for the Blind served as my home and part-time employer while I was a college student. It is good to connect with familiar landmarks in my life that continue to impact this city and the wider community.

